Un[conventional]

If I could describe myself in three words, I would choose: Lazy, Dishonest, and Demanding (Oh—and I’d like to think I’m funny too.)

Not bad for an introductory header, right? I’ll preface this post by saying that my best-friend flat-out called me crazy for even thinking of sharing this with all of you, and you know what? She’s right, I am a bit of a nut. But, aren’t we all? I mean – I’ve shared quite a few personal things on here in the past and I’d like to think most of you are up to speed on the horrid dry-spell my love life has been under, but that’s all about to change. For those of you who’ve been catching up on my shenanigans on a weekly basis you are most likely familiar with my “creating our own luck” motto, and for those of you who’ve recently joined the band-wagon for this crazy ride, welcome! A few weeks ago I published a post which included a list of things I would be forced to try, while my roommate was away in Cuba. Honesty is a very big thing for me, so I will admit  I am guilty of failing that mission (–I mean, complete FAIL!).

And as much as value honesty, I think there’s no such thing as “real” failure, because, no matter how ridiculously crazy a situation is, there’s always a lesson to be learned. blog26 So amidst my “lesson-learned”, I decided to roll up my sleeves and take another shot at it. I didn’t get to check most of the items off of that initial list, but that doesn’t mean I’m going to let it bring me down. This brings me to the second part of this post.

You see—I’ve been obsessed with Bruno Mars lately, and his songs inspired me to get my sh#t together and make something of this not-so-fabulous situation. After deciding to take matters into my own hands, I did a bit of research and here’s what I’ve concluded:

  • Cupid is a lazy @ss*%&$
  • I need to find a way to meet guys in a more efficient manner (–coffee shop stakeouts aren’t cutting it, obviously.)

Now I know these conclusions probably don’t seem like much (–I definitely won’t win a Nobel Prize or be published in some scientific journal, but hey, they’re good enough for me.) SO … here’s the reason my roommate thinks I’m crazy: I’ve decided to carry out a little experiment of my own and I’m calling it: UpUrsCupid: a 30 day dating experiment (–I don’t mean to toot my own horn, but I personally thought the title was very fitting.) Doesn’t sound so crazy, right? I didn’t think so… but I forgot to mention one, itsy-bitsy, detail. The title should actually read as such: UpUrsCupid: a 30 day online-dating experiment.  See the difference?

Not only did my partner-in-crime think the idea was off-the-wall; she thought I was even crazier to announce it to the world. Online Dating is often associated as platform for tacky and desperate singles who are hopelessly trying to find love. I know that online-dating has a bit of stigma attached to it, for various reasons, and people tend to think that these online platforms are for deadbeat-potatochip-eating-48-year-old-low-life’s who are looking for someone to cater to their “needs”, but I’m on a mission to prove otherwise (–well try to, at least.)

I-Pad and freshly brewed iced-tea in hand, I decided it was time to conquer the beast that is the “online-dating world”. First, I read various reviews on different sites (i.e. plentyoffish, match.com, eharmony, icupid, etc.) to determine the platform that would best fit the goals of this experiment, and after a whopping 15-minutes of research, I decided to create a profile on match.com. In most cases, people are embarrassed to admit they’re on websites like this one because they fear what those around them will think;  I’m clearly not one of them. My initial thought was that online-dating was for people who were a) too lazy to get out in the “real world” and meet other singles; or b) for those who would much rather create an online profile and pretend to be someone they’re not (–Catfish, anyone?).

Nonetheless, I’ve come to realize that, like me, a lot of people are busy with a million other things and don’t have the time to schedule a four-hour timeblock to examine the nearest pub or bar for a potential date. I’ve been active on match.com for the past week now and the future is looking a bit brighter. I mean—I’m not walking to the altar tomorrow morning, or anything like that. But I can say that I have been on a date and I had a great time, so much so that we’re meeting again this week. I do want to make one thing crystal clear: I may be doing this as a part of an “experiment”, but ultimately I plan on be 100% me, and whatever happens, happens. I’m not going to twist the truth to make my next few blogs more entertaining (–my life isn’t a reality show, after all.) Basically, what I’m trying to say that this may be a 30-day trial, but every aspect about it will  be genuine and real.

You know what — this online-dating thing might not be your cup-of-tea, and that’s totally fine. But as you know I’m big on poking chance’s bubble and seeing what comes of it. Sometimes we need try new and creative ways to get what we want, and this may be an unconventional way to find “love”, but no reward comes without risk.  I challenge you to think outside of the box and find a innovative way to start #gettinglucky.

 

M.

Leave a Reply

