Crooked Smile.

I don’t think I’m going out on a limb here and surprising you a well-kept secret that’s been stored in a cave somewhere for the past 53 000 years when I hit you with the following statement: as humans, we all have that “one” thing we’re self-conscious about; the difference is how we deal with it.

Now, don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying that I’m a perfect example of dealing with insecurities, I’m just trying to say that if you feel insecure about something, whether it’s physical, emotional, or intellectual, you’re not alone. Looking back and reminiscing on few specific pictures of my adolescence, I can still remember how I felt about my insecurity; and the hardest part is probably looking at it today and even now thinking it sticks out like a sore-thumb.

photo-20

I can assure you, I’ve grown to feel better about myself (–not without the help of some oral restructuring, of course), but I’m a thousand times more confident today, as I sit here confessing this to you, than I ever did five years ago. Admittedly, I’m still kind of embarrassed of some of my pictures, but the reason behind the embarrassment goes far beyond the face value of the still-image. Take this shot for example, I look at it and the first thing that comes to mind is: “OMG! My wire-filled mouth looks awful!!” My initial reaction is to feel self-conscious about my smile (– I mean, let’s face it, a mouth full of intertwining metal and elastics doesn’t scream out “Bombshell”); and, to be honest with you; I think this response is some sort of defense mechanism.

As much as I felt ashamed about the way I “looked” in this picture, I think I’m more humiliated by the very thing that can’t be “seen”, and that, ladies and gentlemen, is the way I felt. I mean—you probably can’t tell from this goofy shot that I felt incredibly insecure, right? But that’s the thing about insecurities; they often go unseen to the public eye but can cause an individual so much grief. And, as much as I would love for everyone to feel confident and glowing; I recognize that someone, somewhere, will always have something that makes him or her feel insecure.

I’ve been writing about luck for a few months now, and although some people may think that others around them are “luckier” when it comes to looks, personality, or brains; but I think today’s take-away is that you were born and blessed with what you have today, but it should in no way affect the way you feel about yourself and the goals you want to achieve. Life is what you make it, right? You may think you’re not as smart, as beautiful or as funny as the next person, but I can guarantee they’ve felt inferior to someone, once or twice before.

I’m not trying to say that everyone thinks negatively about themselves, or anything like that. I sincerely believe that we all feel or have felt insecure about something. However, we all have the ability and strength to overcome our discomfort and become confident superstars who can achieve anything they set their minds to. And you know what? You may be thinking: “Oh– how easy for her to say that, she has no idea how I feel…” and guess what?… You’re RIGHT; I don’t know what you think or how you feel, because we’re all different. Take it from a girl, who spent five year trapped in a dreadfully looking mouth-contraption, that learning to live with an insecurity, is, by no means a “walk in the park”, but it takes twice as much effort to live your life bearing the weight of your “crooked smile” on you shoulders, I would know. The moment you stop letting your insecurity control your life is un-coincidentally the moment you’ll start #gettinglucky.

 

M.

Leave a Reply

